Prof. Mike Giles

Non-exec Director

Prof Mike Giles was appointed to the Smith Institute Board in 2019 as a non-executive director. He is head of the Mathematical Institute at the University of Oxford for the period 2018-2022 where he works in computational finance. Mike’s research focus is on improving the accuracy, efficiency and analysis of Monte Carlo methods for a variety of applications.

Mike is also interested in various aspects of scientific computing, including high performance parallel computing, and he has worked extensively on the exploitation of many-core GPUs for a variety of applications. This led to Mike’s establishment of JADE, the first national GPU computing facility for Machine Learning.

After a BA in Mathematics at Cambridge, Mike’s MSc and PhD were in Aeronautical Engineering at MIT, addressing challenges in computational fluid dynamics (CFD).

Mike collaborated with Rolls-Royce for more than 20 years, first at MIT and later in the Oxford University Computing Laboratory, developing CFD methods for the analysis and design of gas turbines, culminating in HYDRA which is now Rolls-Royce’s primary CFD code.

Graeme Hobbs

Graeme Hobbs

Chair of the Board

Graeme Hobbs was appointed Chair of the Board of the Smith Institute in May 2018, having served as Non-Executive Director since February 2016. Until July 2015, Graeme was the Chairman of Motorola Solutions UK Ltd, the Country Manager for Motorola Solutions UK, and the Government Affairs lead and regional director for Europe and Africa.

He is a Fellow of both the Royal Academy of Engineering and the Institution of Engineering and Technology.

Graeme is also the non executive Chairman of Bristol is Open Ltd, a joint venture between University of Bristol and Bristol City Council focused on smart city applications. Graeme has a number of pro bono roles including Chair of the Audit Committee and Lay member of Council for Southampton University, a Trustee of the Institution of Engineering and Technology and Chair of the Blue Lamp Trust.

Dr Robert Leese

Dr Robert Leese

Chief Technical Officer

Dr Robert Leese was appointed as Chief Technical Officer in May 2017, and was previously Chief Executive of the Smith Institute and a member of its Board of Directors since 1999.

He previously held Research Fellowships at the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge, and a visiting position at Brown University.

Robert holds a PhD in mathematical physics from the University of Durham and has been a Fellow of St Catherine’s College, Oxford, since 1993. He is also a Fellow of the Institute of Mathematics and its Applications and a member of the Peer Review College of the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council.

Robert and and colleagues have published a paper on the use of mathematical optimisation tools in spectrum management to quantitatively evaluate the consequences of spectrum policies through scenario analysis: Unlocking the value of spectrum using optimization tools.

Terri Lucas

Non-exec Director

Terri Lucas joined the Smith Insititute board in 2019 as an independent non-executive director. She is an experienced executive director, board advisor and non-executive director, with deep commercial expertise in the private and not-for-profit sectors. Terri joins from global consulting firm Mercer where she led the Growth Leadership Team, and sat on the UK Leadership Board and the Diversity and Inclusion Council from 2015 until 2019. Prior to that, she spent 13 years with pensions and benefits consulting businesses, Hymans Robertson and Aon Consulting in senior sales and marketing roles, with a seat at the management committee table of Hymans Robertson.

Terri previously served a three year term on the Council of the Confederation of British Industry, the advisory panel of Winmark’s marketing director network and was a founder of Aspire Circle, Bristol, a group to help women and girls fulfil their full potential. Terri has a number of pro bono roles, including being a mentor for The Cherie Blair Foundation for Women and is an ambassador for Women on Boards, a network supporting women into non-executive director, trustee or executive leadership roles.

In her spare time, Terri enjoys adventurous travel, photography, food, health and wellbeing, fund raising and working through her bucket list. She received a degree in English Literature from The Open University.

Mr David Miller

David Miller

Finance Director

David Miller supports the Director in the financial management of the Institute and was appointed to The Board in May 2014.

He is a Chartered Accountant with extensive experience in the smaller business sector and expanding operations. David qualified with Ernst & Young and then moved to Gillette, rising to Finance Controller in one of the UK divisions. He then gained sales, marketing and finance experience in the manufacturing sector in the USA before joining a Management buy-in buy-out team.

David is currently self-employed and is focused on assisting growing companies expand in a careful and controlled manner.

Dr Heather Tewkesbury

Dr Heather Tewkesbury

Chief Executive Officer

Dr Heather Tewkesbury joined the Smith Institute in 2001, was appointed as Chief Executive Officer in May 2017 and has been a member of The Board since 2010. Prior to her current role, Heather was Business Development Director from 2006-2017.

Before joining the Smith Institute, Heather worked as a Modelling Development Manager for Cadbury Trebor Bassett, applying mathematics across all areas of the business.

Heather holds a PhD in modelling heat transfer from the University of Birmingham. She is a Chartered Mathematician, Fellow of the Institute of Mathematics and its Applications, member of the Advisory Board for Warwick University’s MathSys CDT and was an impact assessor for the 2014 Research Excellence Framework.

Her interests outside of work include playing violin and viola (but not at the same time), making cakes for friends and family, and kayaking.

Dr Lincoln Wallen

Dr Lincoln Wallen

Non-exec Director

Dr Lincoln Wallen is Chief Technology Officer at British technology company, Improbable.

After joining DreamWorks Animation in 2008 as Head of Research and Development, he was promoted to CTO in 2012, a position he held for the next 5 years. Lincoln was formerly CTO of Electronic Arts Mobile where he was instrumental in shaping EA’s approach to the mobile business, which saw EA deliver a strong portfolio of mass market mobile games, as well as games delivering a next-generation consumer experience. Prior to joining EA, Lincoln was with Criterion Software and MathEngine.

His early career involved 20 years of professional IT and mathematics research, including two years as BP Venture Research Fellow at the University of Texas at Austin, and latterly as a Reader in Computer Science at the University of Oxford. In 2012 Lincoln was awarded an Honorary Doctorate from the University of Edinburgh.

Dr Bob Whelan

Dr Bob Whelan

Non-exec Director

Dr Bob Whelan was previously a non-executive director of NPL Management Ltd and Director of the Institute for Prospective Technical Studies of the European Commission in Seville.

He was founder Director of CEST, the Centre for Exploitation of Science and Technology and was heavily involved with the conception of the Faraday programme and technology foresight.

He has 20 years experience of new product and process development with PA Technology, Cambridge. Bob was a member of the Radio Regulations Group of CEPT.