From Graeme Hobbs, Chairman of the Board of Smith Institute for Industrial Mathematics and System Engineering: 

“I am delighted to announce that with effect from 1st September 2019 Terri Lucas has been appointed as Non Exec Director to the Smith Institute for Industrial Mathematics and System Engineering.”  

“Terri joins us from NYSE-listed Mercer where she led the UK Growth Team and devised a global vision for building client relationships. Terri will support the Smith Institute’s CEO, Dr Heather Tewkesbury and the wider Smith Institute team to develop the company’s growth strategy and in the marketing and communication of high value business solutions through mathematics.” 

Terri said, “The opportunity to improve business’ understanding of how mathematics can be harnessed to solve organisational issues excites me, so I am thrilled to be joining the Board and this talented group of experts.”  

About Terri Lucas 

Terri is an experienced executive director, board advisor and non-executive director with deep commercial expertise in the private and not-for-profit sectors.  

Terri was recently on the Leadership Board of Mercer Ltd and performs a NED advisory role on the council of the CBI. She is a mentor for The Cherie Blair Foundation for Women and provides challenge into Winmark’s Marketing Director Network for professional service member firms. Terri was previously a founder member for women’s network group Aspire Bristol, served on Mercer’s Diversity and Inclusion Council and has chaired executive leadership committees for Mercer and pensions experts Hymans Robertson.   

About the Smith Institute 

For companies, governments and organisations, the Smith Institute has the mathematical expertise to deliver a bespoke, customer-led approach to simplify current challenges. We specialise in providing clarity for decision-makers by drawing on insight driven by the latest mathematical techniques. 

The Smith Institute for industrial mathematics and system engineering is a company limited by guarantee. Its Members are Dr Bruce Smith, Dr Robert Leese, the University of Oxford and the University of Cambridge.